A Little Bit of Everything I Love!

Module #1

The story that resonated the most with me was the article on Covering Victims: Storytelling with Power and Respect. I thought that the editor was right to talk to the family to see how they would feel if the image of their dead loved one was run. By talking to the family s/he showed the family that their opinion was valued and they wouldn’t be blindsided by the image when it was ran in the paper. The family agreed and also wanted an image of the boy when he was alive. I think that having the family in the loop on this story, gave them the opportunity, by agreeing to feature the photo of the deceased, to open the issue of the death of children to the public and possibly help other teenagers. The editors of this piece were very professional and I appreciate that.

The article that has the most relevance to this course is the article on Ice Boat Sailing. You could have a beautifully told story that misleads the viewer in a way that presents obvious ethical concerns (Poynter News University). The photographer who edited the story sped up some shots of the Ice Boat. As Tom Linder, news director for KARE-TV (NBC) found out when his dentist told him that the boats don’t go as fast as the video is portraying. Linder said “People should be able to trust our pictures.” As a reader I need to trust the reporters whose articles I am reading. For our final project in this class we will be using video to tell our story and this article on Ice Boat Sailing is an example to keep in mind. Always feature the truth-even if it isn’t as glamorous.

Module #2

How I can incorporate the 10 questions into my work this quarter is to make sure to ask LOTS of questions. Continue to question until I feel I have the most reliable, honest answer. Check my facts and check the people giving me the facts. Who am I writing for? I need to know the type of audience that I want to follow me, so that my blog has a point. The ethical concern I have is that anyone wants to make a buck nowadays, will put anything out there to get notoriety.

I will always cite work when writing articles for my readership and articles that accomplish the purpose of who I write for. Does my writing/articles meet the qualifications for my readers? I want my content and format to flow, so that it is easily read. I need to research other people in the field/interest/sector that I am writing a piece on because they will have first hand information.

The stakeholders that are affected by my decision right now are those who follow me and our journalism class. These stakeholders are interested in what I have to write. Since I am an amateur blog writer, without advertisers wanting to advertise on my blog and because I am not blogging for a business, I think that my stakeholder’s motivations are legitimate. I don’t fact check. If all the blogs I frequent say the same thing that is how I determine if my information is correct. Consequences of my actions long term, is that information I posted online can come back to haunt me-which could affect my career and possibly advertisers that want to advertise on my blog, and a short term consequence is that I could have one of my followers comment on wrong information I posted.

How I can maximize my truth telling responsibility and minimize harm is always fact check and see if I can get firsthand account information. Ask others reporters/journalists if they know anything or anyone related to a story I am writing. I don’t think I can ever clearly justify my thinking/decisions if what I have written is wrong or harmed someone’s reputation. There are always going to be people who disagree with you and you can never rationalize with them.

How my gut may steer me wrong is that I am an amateur blogger and so I don’t want to research or fact check before posting something because this isn’t a national blog that I am getting paid for.

Module #3

Digital transparency may impact these principals because when you blog people can’t see you reporting on a matter. What you write they have to take at face value, unless your readers want to dig deeper to see if what you’re writing is true.

Other issues that can come up are:

Illegal content sharing

Plagiarism

Over glamorizing the story

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

