A Little Bit of Everything I Love!

I found the article “Here Come the Judges (and Lawyers)” by Dan Gillmor very insightful and astonishing. I can’t believe how cruel and sue happy this world has become; well I kind of can given the infamous “spilled coffee” incident at McDonald’s. I think people need to realize that where ever and whatever you publish in the world; your writing is subject to cruelty and criticism. Glenn Reynolds states that blogging tends to be more about opinion than reporting (194), and having the privilege of starting blogs to instigate your freedom of speech can open up flood gates to fuel the fire for attack. One-hundred percent of the world is not going to agree with what a person has to say and for every ten comments on a blog there is one negative one. You have to expect it as a blogger and take it with a grain of salt. That’s why I think it was ridiculous that Ticketmaster sued Microsoft because they deep linked directly to the ticket page than to their homepage. People just have to find any little thing to sue and then run with it. I think Microsoft was doing Ticketmaster a favor by evening linking to their site in the first place. I cannot say how annoyed this made me when I read it, especially when all Ticketmaster had to do was stop referrals.

I can assume that most everyone thinks that what they write is the best and are less likely to critically analyze [their] own work than an editor would (Gillmor 194) and in this gap is where I think the majority of copyrighting takes place. What also makes me wonder where this world is going is due to the implementation of efforts to zone content on the net. It’s not right that the nation’s most repressive communities could determine what the rest of us may read, hear, or view (Gillmor 197). Aren’t we in 2010 when there are real issues and real problems in the world that need to be addressed, not hidden from the people? I think it is a person’s choice or parent’s responsibility to block content, not to have content blocked for us. We are humans who can decide what to view and what not to view.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

