A Little Bit of Everything I Love!

The web today is an emergence of radio, books, television, shopping, writing, reading, skyping, learning; you name it Google or Bing can find it. The interaction of reading and writing on the Web has made it the sweeping phenomenon that it has become today. Not only can I read about events/stories/experiences on my favorite blogs, but I can interact and post my comments/suggestions/stories. The rise of the mutual want to get intimate on the Web is what makes this central port a means for all information that is at our fingertips. Dan Gillmor in his chapter titled “The Read-Write Web” was explaining how he got his coverage of the recent presidential campaign, while in Hong Kong from several different sources that ranged from CNN, to newspaper’s websites in the States and articles on the Web about the election. I also get my news from a range of different sites.

I love Hollywood gossip, (it’s my relaxing get away from the stresses of life) and I’m constantly clicking back and forth between the different websites that revel in the gossip such as: US Weekly, In Touch, Star, BuzzMedia, and many others. Each website has the same story, yet might have details the others missed so by skimming all sites I can get a broad range of different journalistic views of a story, and in effect I’d rolled my own news (Gillmor 24).

Yesterday’s journalism is out, as tools for new journalism are evolving as quickly as Apple produces new technologies. The blogs you read that day are as old as the day is young. Just like a car, as soon as you drive it off the lot, the news of a blog is old as soon as it’s read because new news is quickly being produced.

What makes blogs real to me is that, whether explaining or complaining, joking or serious, the human voice is unmistakably genuine. It can’t be faked. (The Cluetrain Manifesto: The End of Business as Usual). The blogs that I like the most are about a single person and hearing about how they deal with their life on a day to day basis. The blog I had started about a personal struggle of mine was based on my real feelings and voice. And I think the fact that human voices can’t be faked, gives rise to a new model of news and stories, which are more chaotic and interactive (Nieman Reports).

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

