A Little Bit of Everything I Love!

Blogging of the Future

I immediately felt my heart sink, reading the first paragraph of James Marino’s post as he writes tick, tick…BOOM! I felt as if I had transposed back in time, back to September 11, 2001. I was getting ready for school when my grandma screamed at me from the living room, “A terrorist has crashed a plane into the twin towers!” The hairs on the back of my head stood up and my body became encased in goose bumps. This is it I thought, our world is coming to an end. I ran to my grandma, and she had tears welling up in her eyes, I as well did. It was an emotional moment, one I haven’t felt since September 11, 2001, until reading James Marino’s post.

I felt like I was in Marino’s office, feeling his anguish. His live posts from the World Trade Center are more compelling than many stories on 9/11 because he was there, in the madness, posting as the Towers were collapsing. It breaks my heart to read about Marino losing about 100 friends that day. Who can imagine such a tragedy that is meant to wipe out a city? Seven seconds after Marino made his first post for the day the Twin Towers, as we knew them, came crashing down. It really goes to show that life could be over in the flash of a second and to treasure what you have because you never know how long you’ll have it.

Dave Winer couldn’t get through to his dad or to New York Times reporter Amy Harmon by telephone after the collapse of the towers.  Winer frantically posted a picture of his dad on his website hopping to get in contact via internet. The prevalence of technology, especially in a crisis goes to show how much humans rely on it. Humans are connected to the world 24/7 and when part of that chain is broken there is chaos.

What the web has done is report the news to people as fast as they want it. There is someone blogging about an event as it is happening. The World Wide Web, but more so blogs, has provided people with real time information, much as Marino and probably many others did for the world regarding 9/11. I can’t wait to see the exciting ventures the web will have to offer in years to come!

Comments on: "Blogging of the Future" (4)

  1. […] outs this week to these posts:  Meghan (integrating examples); Marci, Megan and  Stephanie (linkage to personal story); Amy, Joshua (reaction to the two discussion readings); Frank […]

  2. solemnheart said:

    It’s amazing how humans still try to connect even in their last moments.

  3. your page if very flowery

  4. I can still remember the exact day. Where I was, what I was doing, even what I was wearing. It was incredible to read about bloggin gin NYC after the initial attack. You wrote a nice review and interpretation of what that must have been like for him. Great voice.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

