A Little Bit of Everything I Love!

Reading these articles reminded me of the years of changes that I’ve been through; moreover the articles made me think about all the technological changes I have seen in my short life. The article, Technologies of the Third Mediamorphosis made a good point about how the process of technologies does not occur instantaneously but takes awhile to fully emerge. I thought about the merge of VHS’s to DVD’s, Nintendo to Xbox and tapes to CD’s. I fought each change, not wanting to convert my technologies to the latest push from large conglomerates. Inevitably in the end, I converted and the large corporations got their way. Now it seems that new technological advances ease their way into our lives just as the post office feeds us ads through our mailbox or the web overruns our computer with pop-up ads.

I found the article, What Is Web 2.0 about blogosphere’s insightful and it made me think about my own blog and how my deepest thoughts are aired for the world to read. I could have blogged about a topic that was dear to me, but I thought it would be more compelling for the reader if I discussed a topic that was about me. My blog was my personal journal and I have not been faithful to my readers. I understand now what the article 10 Tips on Writing the Living Web meant that not writing frequently is being unfaithful to your readers. I love to read blogs, and will admit that my mindless indulgence is following Khloe Kardashian’s blog. I do feel a sense of disappointment if she doesn’t update her blog and it makes me realize what those readers who follow my blog thought when I went absent.

I think the World Wide Web is growing and is a spreading pandemic. People are obsessed with the web and can’t live without it. The web is everywhere we are at and can pretty much be accessed at any point in time, from work, to school, to ipods and many more technologies that are available. In order for people to thrive, I think they have to succumb to the pandemic the web is bringing. I am still amazed to hear about that one person who doesn’t own a computer. It flabbergasts me. I depend on the web for most of what I do throughout the day. This just goes to show how much the web encompasses our lives nowadays.

Comments on: "Change of Technologies Over Time" (3)

  1. Pandemic. That’s an interesting metaphor — “an epidemic of infectious disease that is spreading through human populations across a large region” http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pandemic

    It also has a negative/scary connotation (“swine flu”). Is that what you mean?

  2. Yes as much as I like technology, I think it will take over. For instance I work at a Doctor’s office on weekends and they want to implement self checkouts, much like the grocery store does. Patients will check themselves in for appointments. Personally I love technology because it is fast, yet it will eventually push people out of jobs and the only people who have jobs will be those running the robots of technology!

  3. I agree with you Stephanie, much of the technology around us today is somewhat ”forced’ upon us whether or not we like it. Sooner or later we will have to conquer our fears of new technology to keep up with the fast paced word. Sometimes giving in is not so bad when it helps make life easier. Ready or not here it comes.

    I have never been a blogging person to begin with. But, I have been interested from hearing what my friends are doing with their blogs. For example, a friend of mine started a fashion blog where she would post her shopping finds on a budget. And what goes on in the ever changing fashion world. Where people find the time to blog surprises me since between work, school, and a barely there social life, I have a hard time logging on and blogging. So much power to you.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

